New Delhi6 hours ago

  • copy link
  • 12 CETPs for polluting Yamuna fined Rs 12 crore

The Delhi Pollution Control Committee (DPCC) has started cracking down on 12 Common Effluent Treatment Plants (CETPs) in Delhi for not taking measures as per the applicable norms for disposal of sewage effluents.

DPCC has imposed a fine of over Rs 12 crore on 12 CETP plants for polluting Yamuna. Along with this, the officials of DPCC are preparing for legal action on CETP plants as well as on the officials of the plant.

Delhi has 24 industrial areas, of which 17 are connected to 12 CETPS, which treat the waste water from industrial units before it is reused or discharged into the Yamuna River.

According to experts of DPCC, untreated waste water and poor quality of sewage from CETP and sewage water are the main reasons for pollution in Yamuna river. While these 12 CETPs are in industrial areas at Jhilmil, Badli, Mayapuri, Mangolpuri, Nangloi, Okhla, Narela, Bawana, Narayana, GTK Road and Keshavpuram.

DPCC had sent notice earlier

The DPCC has issued several notices to all these 12 CETPs asking them to take corrective measures to ensure that the waste water disposal standards are met. According to the DPCC, these CETP plants have repeatedly failed to meet the standards between February 2019 and February this year, due to which a fine of Rs 1 crore has been imposed on these plants.

power cut order

Not only this, the DPCC has issued instructions to the DM of the district to seal the 1068 industrial units of the capital with immediate effect and cut off their electricity and water. The SDM of the concerned area will take action under the Water Act 1974 for non-compliance of the order by sealing these units.

There is more news…


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join Us